We're creating paths of opportunity for the future.

Junior Achievement of Memphis and the Mid-South has been dedicated to educating students about entrepreneurship, work-readiness, and financial literacy since 1955. Through an extensive offering of experiential, hands-on programs, JA empowers students by helping them discover the tools they need to succeed in today’s economy.

More than 20,000 students participate in JA programs each year throughout the Greater Memphis area. Our programs are taught by volunteers from all walks of life, including: business people, college students, parents and retirees. These dedicated individuals are the backbone of our organization.

Junior Achievement of Memphis and the Mid-South began teaching students practical, real-world skills in 1955. We are the community’s oldest organization dedicated to providing young people with the tools necessary to succeed in a global economy.

JA’s programs focus on the areas of work readinessentrepreneurship, and financial literacy. In Memphis, more than 20,000 students participate in JA each year. Our programs are taught by volunteers from all walks of life, including: business people, college students, parents and retirees. These dedicated individuals are the backbone of our organization.

There are many ways to be involved with JA from volunteering in a classroom, helping during a JA BizTown simulation, or participating in a special event. We’d love to hear from you.

Leigh Mansberg

President & CEO
lmansberg@jamemphis.org

Bill Duff

Chief Financial Officer
bduff@jamemphis.org

Steve French

Chief Operations Officer
sfrench@jamemphis.org

Kesha Ivy

Chief Academic Officer
kivy@jamemphis.org

Timberly Taylor

Director of Site Based Learning and Teacher Education
ttaylor@jamemphis.org

Alison Welch Elder

Director of Capstone Education 
awelch@jamemphis.org

DSC_0724

Suzy Bowman

Director of Mississippi Programming
sbowman@jamemphis.org

Mary Kanowitz

Senior Development Manager
mkanowitz@jamemphis.org

Andrew Duff

Tenela Blakney

Volunteer and School Recruitment Manager
tblakney@jamemphis.org

Deonna Williams

Manager of Education Programs
dwilliams@jamemphis.org

Janel Bonds

Capstone Manager
jbonds@jamemphis.org

Edward (EJ) Canny

High School Program Coordinator
ecanny@jamemphis.org

DSC_0338

Nia Nguyen

Office Coordinator
nnguyen@jamemphis.org

Board Officers

Board Chair:
Kelly Lomax, Dunavant

Corporate Secretary:
Karen Koplon, Harris Shelton

Treasurer:
Jason Campbell, FedEx

JA President & CEO:
Leigh Mansberg

Chair, Audit Committee:
Adam King, Deloitte

Chair, Community Engagement Committee:
Pearson Crutcher, Society of Entrepreneurs

Immediate Past Board Chair, Investment Committee Chair:
Brandon Cooper, Simmons Bank

Development Chair:
Brenda Duckett, Community Leader

Board of Directors

Dr. Greg W. Boller, University of Memphis

Tarek Dernaika, Truist   

Gabe Franceschi, TVA

Dr. Sha Fanion, Tennessee New Teacher Project

Rick Fogelman, Fogelman Properties 

Cassie Lynn Foote, American Public Education Foundation

Justin Gentry, Ernst & Young LLP 

Jason Gillum, Millennium Search 

Henry Gordon, First Horizon

Sheleah Harris, Kroger

Tiffannie Hedin, Toyota

Scotty Hendricks, New York Life

Charlie House, AutoZone 

Darryl Jackson, Enfinity Supply

Casey King, AZO

Samuel King

Katie McCrary, McCrary-West Construction

Dr. Mary McDonald, MCD Partners  

Kevin McEniry, MEMPHO Music Fest 

Kimberly Moore, Regions Bank

Brittney Murray, UTHSC

Alana Hu Perkovic, First Horizon

Alex Piña, McDonald’s

Brad Phillips,  KPMG 

Jessica Seidner, International Paper

Steve Swain, Pinnacle Financial Partners

Ted Townsend, Greater Memphis Chamber

Scott Trammell, Strategic Financial Partners

Robin Wallace, Helms Briscoe

Alonzo Weaver, MLGW 

Kenneth Worles, Think Rubix & Co.